Happy 2014!

2 Jan

Happy New Year picture

A New Year brings such hope doesn’t it?  It IS like having a sparkly, do-over, shiny, blank canvas to start fresh!  It is a time to reflect on the year past and not just think about all the things we did wrong, or the things we wish we had done but didn’t, or be discouraged over last year’s resolutions that we didn’t accomplish.  Do you know that only 8% actually accomplish those resolutions each year?   Take a few moments and focus on all the good things you were able to accomplish and the positive changes you made and the impact you had on others.

One of my favorite sayings is:  “I cannot change yesterday…I can only make the most of today and look with hope toward tomorrow.” Jeremiah 29:11 says “For I know the plans I have for you says the Lord.  Plans for good and not evil, to give you a future and a hope.”  Whether it is January 1st or March 18th or June 22nd or October 28th, each and every day gives us new hope and a promise that God has plans for us and will always be with us.  Yes, this means even when we mess up!  We are who we are because of the challenges we’ve faced (and how we handled them).

One of the definitions of “hope” that I found says : “a feeling of expectation and desire for a certain thing to happen”.  As I am looking at a fresh (sparkly of course) new canvas for 2014, I am certainly thinking of things that I desire will happen this year.  I think it is very important that we all strive to better ourselves each day.  As hard as it is , it is so important to not get stuck on focusing on all our flaws but instead thinking of ways to improve upon the person that God made us to be.  His desire is for us to be the best we can be and whether that means you need to lose a few pounds to be a more healthier person, you need to be more organized so that you can use your time more wisely,  or you start caring more about what you look like and what impression you are leaving on those around you, it is most important that you are in His Word and are growing in your personal relationship with Him.   By doing this, you will have the desire to be the best YOU you can be!

I am so thankful that while I may not have the promise of life without challenges, I do have the promise of God always being with me to handle whatever challenges may come my way!  My prayer is for each of you to realize that promise too and for you to be able to face each day of this new year with a heart full of hope and promise and a willingness to listen to God and desire to be everything He created you to be!

I look forward to spending 2014 with you and hopefully being able to guide you through with helpful tips and encouragement along the way.

One Response to “Happy 2014!”

  1. Beulah January 7, 2014 at 11:02 AM #

    Great Blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

