Barefoot & Breaking Free

16 Sep

image 37

I just came back from such an awesome retreat!!  It was the annual Barefoot & Breaking Free Retreat hosted by Mary Brandes (on the right in the picture above) and  held on the island of Cayman Brac.  (Not a bad place for a retreat, heh?) If you are looking for a great vacation spot I would certainly recommend the Brac Reef Beach Resort http://www.bracreef.com

I was honored to be a guest speaker for this retreat and was able to share Fashion and Faith with 54 beautiful ladies!

A very talented musician and singer, Cynthia Cullen, was our worship leader .  (Was a great roommate too!)  If you are ever in the Hilton Head Island area I would suggest checking out her church – Hilton Head Island Community Church http://www.hiltonheadislandcc.org  Her husband just happens to be the Pastor there.

Ruth Graham was our speaker each night for worship (on the left in the picture above) and she is an amazing woman! She is the 3rd child of Rev. Billy Graham and Ruth Graham.  She is the Founder and President of Ruth Graham and Friends Ministries http://www.ruthgrahamandfriends.org  She shared with us insights into her family and her life growing up as a child of Billy and Ruth Graham.  She has worked through many challenges in her own life and is so thankful for God’s amazing Grace!

This was an amazing opportunity for me and I am very thankful to Mary for asking me to be a part of it. I was able to share with the ladies about the importance of choosing their best colors and dressing for their body type as well as accessorizing proportionately and learning to “shop” their closets.  Most importantly I was able to emphasize how important it is to see ourselves the way God sees us – as beautiful women he created in His own image.  We are daughters of the King – which makes us all qualify as Princesses!

It was also a time of relaxation and rejuvenation and a time of confirmation for me to continue having faith that I am doing exactly what God has lead me to do. It can certainly be a time of peace when we know we are following His will for our lives.  It’s not always easy when we can’t see the whole picture but putting your faith in Him who can see the whole picture is all He asks of us.

We had a time of indescribable worship on the beach Sunday morning with a gentle breeze in the air and I can’t imagine being any closer to God. If you ever get a chance to go on a women’s retreat I would certainly recommend it.  It is just such a wonderful way to get away from reality for a little bit and be with women who will encourage you and lift you up and allows you time to hear God’s still small voice.

If your church or women’s group is considering hosting a retreat, I would love to be your speaker and share Fashion and Faith with your group!

Here are a few pictures of my wonderful weekend (just hate I didn’t get a picture of the wonderful buffets of food we had each day prepared by the awesome Chef’s):

The beautiful facilities at Brac Reef Resort where we held our event and notice the hammocks for lounging and quiet time by the ocean.

1151053_10201971326352934_1593098195_n image 3 image 6

Enjoyed spending time in the pool talking with ladies and getting to know them a little better.

1236472_10201971325392910_2138672603_n

I was able to take a tour of the island with a few of my new friends and our awesome tour guide.  I even climbed up in a cave!

photo 3image 11

Our worship time on the beach on Sunday morning.

image 43

Leave a Reply

